Let’s Meet at the Park! — March 30

For those of you that have been interested in seeing and handing a rocket stove and solar oven in person, here is your chance.    I will bring my demonstration models.  They were made to be easily assembled, pulled apart and assembled again.    As a kinesthetic learner I truly understand the value of demonstrations models.

I am also bringing washable chess/checker boards that my son and I made specifically for playing at the park, pool and beach.    They are made of fused plastic bags and have bottle caps as playing pieces.  I hope you stop by and play a game.   It is so nice to see people playing games that don’t involve batteries!

For more information about the rocket stove, visit my other blog at http://hemetsunshine.wordpress.com/2012/04/08/inside-a-tin-can-rocket-stove.

For more information about solar oven, visit my other blog at http://hemetsunshine.wordpress.com/2011/07/03/a-box-cooker-without-reflectors.

The following is from www.greencoalition-sjv.org:

Greetings Green Coalition Members, Supporters and Friends,

The City of Hemet is planning a Community Picnic in The Park on Sunday, March 30th. This is a a family-friendly picnic event on Sunday March 30 from 1-to 5 in Weston Park. Following extensive maintenance to restore the park, we now want to celebrate and enjoy a day of fun- filled activities. To make that happen, we are seeking out our people in the community to join this important event!
Please bring your family and friends!

Blessings, Ginger
Green Coalition of San Jacinto Valley
Keeping the San Jacinto Valley Clean, Green, Safe, livable
http://www.greencoalition-sjv.org

* * *

UPDATES

Update as March 19, 2014 – I have sent this invitation to several groups.    If you want to RSVP, and I think it would be encouraging if you did, The Hemet Police Department has posted the City’s invitation here:  https://www.facebook.com/events/1464174643814321/?source=3&source_newsfeed_story_type=regular.

I look forward to meeting many cyber friends in person.  Please feel free to bring your crafts or geeky projects.   I would love to have a geek gathering at the park!  Maybe this will be a good time to discuss the possibility of a local MAKER FAIRE (See http://ocminimakerfaire.wordpress.com/2014/01/04/the-year-of-a-100-maker-faires).

Update as of March 26, 2014 – http://www.pe.com/local-news/riverside-county/hemet/hemet-headlines-index/20140326-hemet-party-planned-in-weston-park.ece

Update as of March 29th – This is a small park.  To find me, look for a woman using a walker wearing a name tag with “Hemet Sunshine” on it.   If it is crowded, I will leave the solar cooker in the car until around 4:30 pm or 5 pm, then do a presentation with it.

About Hemet Sunshine

I am a homeschooling mom living in Hemet, California. I am interested in building a better community for the ones I love.
This entry was posted in Community Service, Events in January-May. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

