Cinematography (Yucaipa) — March 3 – April 7

The following is from Heather Martinson at hdm@ochomeschooling.com:

Join us for a teen cinematography class in Yucaipa!

My boys are interested in learning more about cinematography and I happen to know a guy who teaches cinematography, so I put two and two together and created a class for us! Kam Kalanui owns his own video production company, through which he teaches his “Training Academy for Producers.” Here’s his website: http://www.kamedits.com/ketap.

To sign up for the class, go here: http://register.asapconnected.com/eventdetail.aspx?org=1914&pk=283602

Here’s what we will go over in the class:

how to use cameras properly

video composition

story boarding

shooting in sequence

editing

Then the students will be divided into two groups for:

planning a movie

scripting

acting

filming

The students will spend the largest amount of time shooting their movies in their two crews with Kam’s professional equipment.

One of my boys is a Boy Scout working on his Cinematography Merit Badge so I asked Kam if he could also include the requirements for the merit badge and he said he will.

One of the weeks we will go on a field trip to visit his office in Redlands.

At the last class we will hold a screening of the movies. This will probably be at Kam’s home or mine.

While I was visiting his site, I noticed that Kam uses interns at some of his shoots. Maybe taking this class could be a good lead-in to eventually get an intern position with him?

You do not need to bring anything but yourselves. Kam has all the professional equipment we will need.

My boys are 12 & 16, so I asked Kam to make the instruction for ages 11 & up. I guess it would be OK if younger students signed up, but I don’t really want younger children there who need extra hand-holding, since I’m doing this mostly for my boys. I know. Selfish me!

We are going to meet for five Mondays, 1pm-3pm. The dates are March 3, 10, 24, 31, and April 7. Notice that we will not meet on March 17th.

To help keep costs down, we decided to hold the class at the Community Park here in Yucaipa. We will meet under one of the shelters. Here’s the address: 34900 Oak Glen Rd, Yucaipa

The cost is $120 per student – great price, right? I am going to run this class through Celebration Education, who is a vendor for most charter schools, so your school may be able to pay for the class for you.

Kam asked for a minimum of ten students.

Sign up now! http://register.asapconnected.com/eventdetail.aspx?org=1914&pk=283602

See you in the movies!

– Heather Martinson

hdm@ochomeschooling.com

About Hemet Sunshine

I am a homeschooling mom living in Hemet, California. I am interested in building a better community for the ones I love.
This entry was posted in Doing Digital Arts: Photography, Videography, CADD, 3-D Printing, Events in January-May. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

