National EMP Awareness Day — August 15

We prefer to ‘do school’ on the computer, but it would be irresponsible to not plan for an extended power outage.   For such as time as this, I have books to cover all subjects including those we normally do online.  For example, if we ever get cut off from Khan Academy’s awesome math program we will carry on with Saxon Math.  The typing tests I have made for memorization of key vocabulary and facts for each subject are formatted to also be a handy print out for flashcards and quizzes.

From what I read about EMPs they appear to be inevitable.  How to protect against them is debated.  I keep hard copies of key information so school and daily living carry on whether I have electricity or not.   As much as I like the convenience of electricity, I never thought it was wise to be overly dependent upon it.  I post about frugal off-grid solutions on my other blog at http://hemetsunshine.wordpress.com.

WHAT IS AN EMP?

EMPS can come from both natural and man-made sources.  The following are a few articles to explain them in more detail:

* * *

If you would like to discuss how to cope with an EMP event, check our local emergency preparedness group at http://www.meetup.com/San-Jacinto-Valley-Preppers/boards/view/viewthread?thread=34443292.  This a friendly group of concerned citizens that get together to prepare for chaotic events such as earthquakes.

About Hemet Sunshine

I am a homeschooling mom living in Hemet, California. I am interested in building a better community for the ones I love.
This entry was posted in Astronomy and Weather, Electronics, Engineering, Events in Summer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

