Happy Hope That Heckles Heathens

I was listening to a sermon on the radio today when the pastor mentioned this version of the song “Down In My Heart.”   Then he proceeded to tell a story where his calm trust in the Lord heckled a heathen.

The story:  he and his wife rented an old fixer-upper in Corona.    They built cabinets and painted until they made it really nice.    The landlord gave them a 30-day eviction notice after she saw how beautiful the house was.   She then proceeded to call them daily asking them if they had rented a new place yet.     The pastor and his wife could not find a place, but were not worried and told the landlord NOT to worry because they would move out whether they found a place or not.     On moving day their stuff went to a friends garage for storage.    That evening their friend’s neighbor’s home was available for an affordable rent and it was already a nice home!    No need to fix it up and NO need to rent a moving truck!   The pastor said this reminded him of a song.     It is now stuck in my head and I want to stick it yours.    Enjoy!

Down In My Heart
By George Willis Cooke

I’ve got the joy, joy, joy, joy
Down in my heart   (Where?)
Down in my heart   (Where?)
Down in my heart.
I’ve got the joy, joy, joy, joy
Down in my heart   (Where?)
Down in my heart to stay.

<Chorus>
And I’m so happy
So very happy
I’ve got the love of Jesus in my heart (down in my heart)
And I’m so happy
So very happy
I’ve got the love of Jesus in my heart

Subsequent verses include:
I’ve got the love of Jesus, love of Jesus down in my heart
I’ve got the peace that passes understanding down in my heart…
Well, if the devil doesn’t like it he can sit on a tack (ouch)…
I’ve got the wonderful love of my blessed redeemer way down in the depths of my heart…
I’ve got the bountiful beauty that baffles Beelzebub down in my heart…
I’ve got the mighty Messiah that manifest’s miracles down in the depths of my heart…
I’ve got the happy hope that heckles heathens down in my heart…
I’ve got the far out faith that freaks out farmers down in my heart…

Here is an ultra cute version called Kitties Singing Joy-Joy-Joy!

Here is the music only version

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/I%27ve_Got_the_Joy_Joy_Joy_Joy_%28song%29

About Hemet Sunshine

I am a homeschooling mom living in Hemet, California. I am interested in building a better community for the ones I love.
This entry was posted in Doing Performing Arts: Acting, Dancing, Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

